You can only delete unused items. This is, if you have used an item in a document or a template, you can't delete the item unless all related documents and templates are deleted.
Another option is to create a catalog that should serve as a trash, and move items to the trash instead.
To list items, you must select a catalog or a smart catalog from the sidebar.
Hold the cmd or shift key to select multiple items.